SPOTLIGHT ON ANDREW CRUZ, STAGE ACTOR

Andrew Cruz

Actor ANDREW CRUZ discovered the world of the theatre by accident but it’s a serendipity that the whole theatre world would forever be grateful for. From being a stage manager to actor, the multi-talented Mr. Cruz have been part of production made here and abroad. And as proof of his skill and dedication, he has ventured in other aspects of the theatre as well as the media.

Here’s a glimpse of the humble yet uberly talented Actor/Director/Playwright Andrew Cruz.

FULL NAME AND STAGE NAME:  Andrew Cruz

SPOTLIGHT THEATRE: Theatre background (acting, directing, playwriting)

ANDREW CRUZ: Acting: scholar of cecile guidote alvarez’ Balintataw Theater/TV Acting Workshop, scholar (1995-1997) CCP’s resident theater company Tanghalang Pilipino, done plays for Dulaang UP, PETA, Musical Theater Phil., Dulaang Talyer, Greenroom(Pro.Pro), Young Artists Productions, Kids Acts Phils, Okasaki Theaterworks, Trumpets Playshop, CCP Special Shows and Teatro Adarsari. International Performances: Phil-Japan Expo(CCP), Folding Wife (Urban Theatre Project, Australia), Florante at Laura (Hanoi Vietnam) and Within & Without (Performance Space Australia). TV: Regular host of Batibot (GMA7) as Kuya Pol, basta’t kasama kita (ABS CBN), Recuerdo de Amor (ABS CBN), EPol Apple (ABS CBN), Sa Kamay ng Diyos (GMA7), Aawitan Kita Directing/Writer: Repleksyon (CCP and College of Saint Benilde), Love, Letters and Music (St. Scholastica’s College of Music), Batibot Live Shows

SPOT. TH.: Describe yourself in your own words

AC: Shy, funny when I’m with people I’m comfortable with. Down to earth. Happy with small things that I get/have.

SPOT. TH.:  What are the things that others say about you and wish they didn’t?

AC: Reklamador. I always say what I feel and think. And sometimes they don’t get my point. We can’t always say “yes”, that’s not complaining but fighting for what’s right.

Andrew Cruz with Lisa Macuja

SPOT. TH.:  What are the things that others don’t know and you wish they know?

AC: That I’m a sincere person. I can’t hide what I feel. I’m very transparent.

SPOT. TH.:  When did you decide to venture into the theatre? What made you do it? Who or what inspired you to keep on doing it?

AC: It’s just an accident. I need a place to stay during my long break in school(Adamson University) so I joined a Theater Group. And later on our director asked me if I want to work as an Apprentice Stage Manager for Tanghalang Pilipino, I accepted the offer because he said Carmi Martin is in the play. But she’s replaced by Rina Reyes.

It’s a hobby at first, I’m not so serious on doing theater. But when I joined Oktubre with Irma Adlawan, john Arcilla and Ony de Leon directed by Nonon Padilla. I saw the actors process, analysis, discussions, characterizations, I even get to act with them as a stand in. That made me decide to audition for Actors Company. And I passed.

SPOT. TH.:  What makes you different from other artists? What gives you an edge from others?

AC: I started as a stage manager that’s why I think I’m very considerate with the staff. Im responsible with my props, blockings etc. I think I’m very focused on stage and I can easily improvise if something went wrong. I’m very artistic too, with ideas and even visually.

SPOT. TH.:  For you what is the ideal artist for you?

AC: Secure, Humble, Eager to learn new things, good listener, sincere, generous, focused and a good story teller.

SPOT. TH.:  What should a thespian like you should always remember?

AC: To be humble. And be a sponge, absorb and adopt what’s given.

SPOT. TH.:  What is theatre to you?

AC: Theater is where I get to experiment a lot of things. I can be who I am not.

SPOT. TH.:  Challenges you’ve encountered in the theatre?

AC: I’ve been a good stage manager and during my transition from SM to actor, it’s the hardest part because you have to prove a lot of things. I have to learn a lot of things too, acting and singing. Dancing is my weakness but I can move.

SPOT. TH.:  Most rewarding thing in the theatre?

AC: I get to travel for free and I even get paid. Meeting a lot of people. And making people smile.

SPOT. TH.:  Any projects you’re doing? Feel free to promote it (contact details etc.)

AC: Hercules 12 (Young Artist Productions), Pinnochio and Hansel and Gretel (Kids Acts Philippines), Intramuros (Heroes Square)

Leave a comment